Winners & Sinners

“These are the most conspicuous of the non-directorial auteurs and, as such, cannot be subsumed under any directorial style. They are ultimately the funniest footnotes to the auteur theory.” —Andrew Sarris, The American Cinema
Moon Lee
Winners & Sinners

Moon Lee

Reviews: The Inspector Wears Skirts IV [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/the-inspector-wears-skirts-series-wellson-chin-1988-1992/] (Wellson Chin, 1992) – January 21, 2022 Angel Terminators 2 [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/angel-terminators-2-tony-lou-chun-ku-chan-lau-1993/] (Tony Lou Chun-ku & Chan Lau, 1993) – January 27, 2022 A Serious Shock! Yes Madam! [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/a-serious-shock-yes-madam/] (Albert Lai, 1993) – May 10, 2022
1 min read
Jimmy Wang Yu
Winners & Sinners

Jimmy Wang Yu

Reviews: The One-Armed Swordsman [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/the-one-armed-swordsman/] (1967) — July 12, 2013 The Assassin [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/the-assassin-chang-cheh-1967/] (1967) — May 12, 2014 Return of the One-Armed Swordsman [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/return-of-the-one-armed-swordsman-chang-cheh-1969/] — July 25, 2013 Wuxia [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/wuxia-peter-chan-2011/] (2011) — April 25, 2014 Capsule Reviews [https:
1 min read
Zhang Ziyi
Winners & Sinners

Zhang Ziyi

Reviews: Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/crouching-tiger-hidden-dragon-ang-lee-2000/] (Ang Lee, 2000) — August 28, 2013 Hero [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/hero-zhang-yimou-2002/] (Zhang Yimou, 2002) — March 28, 2017 Sophie’s Revenge [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/sophies-revenge-eva-jin-2009/] (Eva Jin, 2009) — July 29, 2014 My Lucky Star [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/my-lucky-star-dennie-gordon-2013/
1 min read
Josephine Siao
Winners & Sinners

Josephine Siao

Reviews [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/tag/josephine-siao/]: The Legend of Fong Sai-yuk [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/the-legend-of-fong-sai-yuk-corey-yuen-1993/] (Corey Yuen, 1993) – January 23, 2022 The Legend of Fong Sai-yuk II [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/the-legend-of-fong-sai-yuk-ii-corey-yuen-1993/] (Corey Yuen, 1993) – January 24, 2022 Capsule Reviews: [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/josephine-siao-capsule-reviews/] Jumping Ash (Josephine
Sandra Ng
Winners & Sinners

Sandra Ng

Reviews: The Inspector Wears Skirts Series [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/the-inspector-wears-skirts-series-wellson-chin-1988-1992/] (Wellson Chin, 1988-1992) – January 21, 2022 Golden Chicken 2 [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/golden-chicken-2-samson-chiu-2003/] (Samson Chiu, 2003) — August 3, 2014 Goldbuster [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/goldbuster-sandra-ng-2017/] (Sandra Ng, 2017) — January 5, 2018 Capsule Reviews [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/sandra-ng-capsule-reviews/