Tricky Brains

“These are the unsung directors with difficult styles or unfashionable genres or both. Their deeper virtues are often obscured by irritating idiosyncrasies on the surface, but they are generally redeemed by their seriousness and grace.” —Andrew Sarris, "Expressive Esoterica" in The American Cinema
Joseph Kuo
Tricky Brains

Joseph Kuo

Reviews: The Shaolin Kids [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/the-shaolin-kids-joseph-kuo-1975/] (1975) — January 13, 2022 The 18 Bronzemen [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/the-18-bronzemen-joseph-kuo-1976/] (1976) — January 13, 2022 Return of the 18 Bronzemen [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/return-of-the-18-bronzemen-joseph-kuo-1976/] (1976) — January 14, 2022 7 Grandmasters [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/7-grandmasters-joseph-kuo-1977/] (1977) — January 6, 2022
Chor Yuen
Tricky Brains

Chor Yuen

Reviews [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/tag/chor-yuen/]: Intimate Confessions of a Chinese Courtesan [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/intimate-confessions-of-a-chinese-courtesan-chor-yuen-1972/] (1972) — July 7, 2013 Killer Clans [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/killer-clans-chor-yuen-1976/] (1976) — December 26, 2012 The Web of Death [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/the-web-of-death-chor-yuen-1976/] (1976) – February 22, 2022 The Sentimental Swordsman [https:
1 min read
Heiward Mak
Tricky Brains

Heiward Mak

Reviews: Uncertain Relationships Society [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/uncertain-relationships-society-heiward-mak-2014/] (2014) — October 3, 2014 Fagara [https://mubi.com/notebook/posts/contemporary-chinese-cinema-sammi-cheng-stars-in-heiward-mak-s-fagara] (2019) — September 10, 2019 Capsule Reviews [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/heiward-mak-capsule-reviews/]: High Noon- October 27, 2014 Diva — November 15, 2014 List: Heiward Mak Movies [https://letterboxd.com/theendofcinema/lis