Fallen Angels

“These are the directors who fall short of the Pantheon either because of a fragmentation of their personal vision or because of disruptive career problems.” —Andrew Sarris, "The Far Side of Paradise" in The American Cinema
Patrick Tam
Fallen Angels

Patrick Tam

Reviews [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/tag/patrick-tam/]: Nomad [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/nomad-patrick-tam-1982/] (1982) — August 20, 2013 Final Victory [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/final-victory-patrick-tam-1987/] (1987) — April 6, 2018 My Heart is that Eternal Rose [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/my-heart-is-that-eternal-rose-patrick-tam-1989/] (1989) — September 2, 2013 Capsule Reviews [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/patrick-tam-capsule-reviews/
Pang Ho-cheung
Fallen Angels

Pang Ho-cheung

Reviews [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/tag/pang-ho-cheung/]: Isabella [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/isabella-pang-ho-cheung-2006/] (2006) — August 1, 2014 Aberdeen [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/aberdeen-pang-ho-cheung-2014/] (2014) — December 4, 2014 Love Off the Cuff [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/love-off-the-cuff-pang-ho-cheung-2017/] (2017) — May 2, 2017 Missbehavior [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/missbehavior-pang-ho-cheung-2019/] (2019) — February 7, 2019
Stephen Chow
Fallen Angels

Stephen Chow

Reviews [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/tag/stephen-chow/]: A Chinese Odyssey [https://mubi.com/notebook/posts/the-wacky-existentialism-of-jeffrey-lau-s-a-chinese-odyssey] (Jeffrey Lau, 1995) — August 12, 2019 Journey to the West: Conquering the Demons [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/journey-to-the-west-conquering-the-demons-stephen-chow-derek-kwok-2013/] (Stephen Chow & Derek Kwok, 2013) — April 3, 2014 The Mermaid [https://mubi.com/notebook/posts/chicken-and-fish-talk-stephen-chow-s-t
1 min read
Mabel Cheung & Alex Law
Fallen Angels

Mabel Cheung & Alex Law

Reviews [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/tag/mabel-cheung-alex-law/]: The Illegal Immigrant [https://mubi.com/notebook/posts/the-shaw-brothers-sisters-filmmakers-at-a-fallen-studio] (Mabel Cheung, 1985) — August 23, 2019 Painted Faces [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/painted-faces-alex-law-1988/] (Alex Law, 1988) —August 2, 2014 Capsule Reviews [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/mabel-cheung-alex-law-capsule-reviews/]: An Autumn’s Tale (Mabel Cheung, 1987)— December
Soi Cheang
Fallen Angels

Soi Cheang

Reviews [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/tag/soi-cheang/]: Accident [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/accident-soi-cheang-2009/] (2009) — July 29, 2014 The Monkey King 3 [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/the-monkey-king-3-soi-cheang-2018/] (2018) — February 18, 2018 The Monkey King 3 [https://mubi.com/notebook/posts/contemporary-chinese-cinema-lunar-new-year] (2018) – February 28, 2018 Limbo [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/limbo-soi-cheang-2021/
1 min read
Jiang Wen
Fallen Angels

Jiang Wen

Reviews [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/tag/jiang-wen/]: Let the Bullets Fly [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/notes-on-filmspottings-contemporary-chinese-cinema-marathon/] (2010) — November 1, 2019 Gone with the Bullets [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/gone-with-the-bullets-jiang-wen-2014/] (2014) — June 15, 2016 Hidden Man [https://mubi.com/notebook/posts/contemporary-chinese-cinema-the-new-king-of-comedy-and-hidden-man] (2019) — April 29, 2019 Capsule Reviews [https://www.thechinesec