Devils on the Doorstep

The following directors have no formal relation to the Chinese Cinema, instead they have their own national traditions, histories and styles. Yet whether as a result of the accidental shorthand of modern film distribution or through shared approaches to style and its relation to Western Cinema, it seems somewhat appropriate to include them in this project.
Iwai Shunji
Devils on the Doorstep

Iwai Shunji

Reviews: The Case of Hana and Alice [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/the-case-of-hana-and-alice-iwai-shunji-2015/] (2015) — September 4, 2019 Last Letter [https://mubi.com/notebook/posts/contemporary-chinese-cinema-shunji-iwai-s-letters-from-shanghai] (2018) — November 9, 2018 The 12 Day Tale of the Monster that Died in 8 [https://inreviewonline.com/2021/08/12/the-12-day-tale-of-the-monster-that-died-in-8/] (2021) — August 9, 2021
1 min read
Miike Takashi
Devils on the Doorstep

Miike Takashi

Reviews [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/tag/miike-takashi/]: Yakuza Apocalypse [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/yakuza-apocalypse-takashi-miike-2015/] (2015) — November 6, 2015 First Love [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/first-love-takashi-miike-2019/] (2019) — September 25, 2019 Capsule Reviews [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/miike-takashi-capsule-reviews/]: Dead or Alive (1999) — November 1, 2017 Ace Attorney (2012) — March 16, 2017 The
Kurosawa Kiyoshi
Devils on the Doorstep

Kurosawa Kiyoshi

Reviews [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/tag/kurosawa-kiyoshi/]: Daguerrotype [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/daguerrotype-kiyoshi-kurosawa-2016/] (2016) — November 3, 2017 Before We Vanish [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/before-we-vanish-kurosawa-kiyoshi-2017/] (2017) — March 8, 2018 Capsule Reviews [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/kurosawa-kiyoshi-capsule-reviews/]: Cure (1997) — May 10, 2016 Pulse (2001)— May 10, 2016 Tokyo Sonata (2008) — May
JP Sniadecki and the Harvard Sensory Ethnography Lab
Devils on the Doorstep

JP Sniadecki and the Harvard Sensory Ethnography Lab

Reviews [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/tag/harvard-sensory-ethnography-lab/]: People’s Park [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/peoples-park-jp-sniadecki-libbie-cohn-2012/] (JP Sniadecki & Libbie Cohn, 2012) — December 13, 2012 Yumen [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/yumen-jp-sniadecki-xu-ruotao-huang-xiang-2013/] (JP Sniadecki, Xu Ruotao & Huang Xiang, 2013) — October 23, 2013 Capsule Reviews [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/harvard-sensory-ethnography-lab-capsule-reviews/] : Leviathan
Sono Sion
Devils on the Doorstep

Sono Sion

Reviews [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/tag/sono-sion/]: Bicycle Sighs [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/bicycle-sighs-sono-sion-1990/] (1990) —August 8, 2016 Suicide Club [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/suicide-club-sono-sion-2001/] (2001) — August 15, 2016 Love Exposure [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/love-exposure-sono-sion-2008/] (2008) — August 22, 2016 Capsule Reviews [https://www.thechinesecinema.com/sono-sion-capsule-reviews/]: Tokyo Tribe (2014)